Quotes for Writers: Breaking the Ice

dearest odyssians,

axe frozen soul kafka quote

“I think we ought to read only the kind of books that wound or stab us. If the book we’re reading doesn’t wake us up with a blow to the head, what are we reading for? So that it will make us happy, as you write? Good Lord, we would be happy precisely if we had no books, and the kind of books that make us happy are the kind we could write ourselves if we had to. But we need books that affect us like a disaster, that grieve us deeply, like the death of someone we loved more than ourselves, like being banished into forests far from everyone, like a suicide. A book must be the axe for the frozen sea within us. That is my belief.” – franz kafka

I think as writers, we should be writing these types of books.

Hugs,

O and Om.

18 thoughts on “Quotes for Writers: Breaking the Ice

    • HI BLB,
      Remember, this ability is in you! I recommend that you get out your proverbial ice picks and start digging in the bed rock of your soul. Go to those things you’re afraid to say in public. That’s usually a good start. It doesn’t have to be perverse or shocking for statement’s sake. Just has to be honest and explored in depth with a flashlight shining truth on what has been hidden in the dark. Hope this helps.

      hugs and happy writing!
      O and om

  1. All I can say is that trying to write anything can feel at times like a holy pick-axe to the sea ice surrounding my soul. I love this quote. I supect its realization/fulfillment would put quite a dampener on the “how to” books department, wouldn’t it!? “How To Be Better…” “How To Be Good…”

    The ice eats these checklists for breakfast I think… :)

    Michael

    • Hi Michael,
      Thanks for dropping in. I know exactly how you feel. It’s so much easier to hold these mantras in your head than it is to employ them as we sit down to write and work and sweat it out on the page. By your comment, I can see you’ve been in the trenches. And will persevere. :)
      Congrats on breaking the ice in your soul and baring it for us readers.

      Sometimes the best how to’s are simple quotes like this that are worth hundreds of pages in any “how to” book. I will try to share more in the future. Glad you liked this one.

      Hugs,
      O and om.

  2. Hey O and OM,

    Excellent quote, compelling in its evocative allure. A fascinating author.

    I think the sinuosity and sensuality of emotionally driven darkness completes a circle within us, and whenever we reach for fiction or fact we do so to complement a deeper desire within the other. I think euphoria shares the opposite edge to death on a sword whose countenance is singularly victorious in death.

    ‘I think as writers, we should be writing these types of books.’ I agree, I want to be moved by a book, to feel immersed within the experience of a story. I want to laugh, cry, fear, love and hate, I want to be heroic, to be harassed, harried and thrilled, to escape, to be mystified, to be taken to places emotionally that elevate me or hurt and unravel me. I want to feel the music and dance in the melody of words or be entombed in the press of their despair and suffering…

    So, when is your book going to be ready? :)

    North Node…is a fascinating thing to consider don’t you think? I read that the North Node is also known as the Dragon’s Head, and the South Node, its corresponding opposite the Dragon’s Tail. I enjoy the associated symbolism of both, and the purposeful intention with which North Node seems to reveal deeper truths and determinations and ensures these wholesome attributes emerge and remain significant in our life…a guiding star for navigating the sea of life perhaps? A little like Polaris aids navigation of the oceans only instead being tailored for the individual to journey more purposefully through life with awareness and intention and balance?

    Have a wonderful day :)

    Namaste

    DN – 19/07/2015

    • Hola from across the oceans –

      Now i’m curious. What’s your north? (Mine’s Leo. and Sindy’s is scorpio)

      As for The book. I hope to her have done by the end of July. And it looks very plausible that I will make this self imposed, wholly imaginary, deadline.
      I also hope once it is born, it breaks all kinds of ice. And makes those things happen that you like to happen to you when you read a book….
      ” I want to laugh, cry, fear, love and hate, I want to be heroic, to be harassed, harried and thrilled, to escape, to be mystified, to be taken to places emotionally that elevate me or hurt and unravel me. I want to feel the music and dance in the melody of words or be entombed in the press of their despair and suffering…”

      ahhh. if only. That is my ultimate dream for this project, I confess. My character’s story is not all sunshine and cotton candy. She’s not all doom and gloom either, thankfully.

      Here’s to hoping for a beautiful balance of both, and all.
      Hugs,
      o and om.

  3. Kafka … so intense! I love it. I’d have bet he had some Scorpio in there, but he’s clustered on the other side of the chart (Taurus > Cancerian). On the Nodes, the Raging Universe blog has some of my favorite North and South Node descriptions (Cancer North Node, Capricorn South Node speaking). Thanks for another excellent and inspiring writer’s quote, O and Om. xoxo Jamie

    • Hi Jamie,
      Top of the afternoon to you! Ahh. The brooding intensity that is kafka. Yes. I love his advice. All to often we are told to write what people will like. That’s only a small part of what should motivate us.

      I’ll check into your sites (and star background) on the raging universe blog.

      Ps. I’m clustered on one half of the chart, Gemini through saggitarius. Lots of Leo, Virgo, libra. With Scorpio rising. Does this mean anything?

      Hugs to you and the fur babies.
      O and om. ♡

PLEASE SHARE YOUR COMMENTS;

