Dawn and DNA: New beginnings in November

Dearest Odyssians,

image
Earth Magic Oracle Tarot by – Steven D. Farmer – See below for your very own card readings :)

‘Tis time for a fresh start!!

We love this tarot card. It says the light of our universe is always dawning, we just need the occasional (gentle) nudge that reminds us to relax and let it in. Each day is a new chance to tidy up the cozy, yet cluttered, space in our earthly minds and make way for more blessings from above – to  absorb all of God’s glorious sunshine.

A reminder like this is especially needed now that the days are getting shorter (for us northern hemisphere folk) and growing colder with winter’s eminent arrival. Brrrrr….. I’m already wearing winter boots, hats, scarves, and onesie jumpsuits over my usual layers, and I’m not even outside. Soon the gloves and balaclavas are coming out of storage and I’ll be praying for the balmy 20 degree F. day like the one we’ve had today.

It’s clear I’m not a winter person. Odie isn’t either. With nary a hair to keep his torpedo-shaped body warm – he too will have to don the winter gear he so hates to wear. Note to everyone: hairless cats like to be naked, at all times. He doesn’t know it yet, and I’m not about to tell him, but in prep for a much colder December I’ve run to the pet store and gotten him a super fuzzy camo hoodie that will look great on him. I’ll do the big reveal when it dips below 15F outside. The final month of 2015 will bring those Temps sooner than later.

Still, I’m more than glad November’s passing fast and December is rumbling our way like an unstoppable freight train carrying ice storms and frostbite with it. About a week ago my November took a swift nose dive to the dark side. Between family (arguing), work (starting it again), and the dreaded agent letters I need to sell my book (not being up to my standards of perfection), things weren’t falling into place like they usually do. I felt miserable. Thankfully, I’m starting to feel like the darkness of this month lifting. I’m happy to be back at work. I’ve resolved the issues on my homefront. I’ve found the courage to work on agent letter revisions.  Even better? November isn’t over yet. This month could close out with a positive check mark next to it after all. A girl can dream.

I confess, holidays always prove to be a time of deep contemplation mixed with whys, what ifs and could haves for me. No other time of year burdens me with such introspective hardships. Let it be known,  I didn’t grow up with the Mansons or that Texan Chainsaw Leatherface bunch, but I still feel my folks and I could get along a hell of a lot better. Wouldn’t it be nice if the group of us could grab hot cocoas with extra whipped cream on top, and snuggle in around the roaring fire to twitter away our hours in deep conversations about how much we love and have missed each other?

Yep.  It would.

But it isn’t going to happen. And I’m the only one who isn’t  lactose-intolerant.

I used to wish it and dream it were true, and then cry about it not being true. Why can’t we all get along splendidly? But…. (I hope) I’ve finally gotten to the age where I’ve resigned myself to be who I am (which my parents don’t always think is quote/unquote ‘awesome’) and I am resigned to love and fully accept my parents for who they are – lovely, interesting/weird, and flawed…. aka, human – just like me.

Acceptance for family can feel like a grand defeat at first, especially in our family. We’re a group that loves to argue while famously choosing our battles wisely – because we like to win them. All of them. It’s made for some ‘heated’ breakfast/lunch/dinner conversations.

Figuring out that family can’t be reasoned with (or changed through discussion and arguing) seemed like a losing prospect until I was able to wrap my mind around the pros and cons of reality.

“It is what it is.” – Life.

Now I’m resigned to drinking cocoa by myself and having Odie tell me how amazing a mom I am. And that’s good enough. My job is to be respectful and safely distant from my folks, while watching those who created me in a passionate evening before a fireplace more than thirty years ago tend to their own wants and needs in old age – no bearskin rugs, no cocoa with whipped cream, no wasting away the hours in loving, sweet nothings about how great we are together as a clan. Also, there aren’t any chainsaws, shotguns or severed heads rolling about the dinner table. I can smile about that.

We aren’t a family in perfect alignment, but we aren’t the Lannisters from G.O.T. either.

That means we’ve never sat down to wrestle ourselves into a cohesive unit, hungry for world dominance, that will take over the rest of empire one generation at a time. I was never gifted the family business or given talks about how to make the most of stock options and my inheritance to preserve our name and dynasty. It also means I’ve never been asked to enter a treaty with an enemy against my will, or go to war with my neighbors over a land grab disguised as some ancient blood feud. Actually I’ve never been asked to do anything against my will for that matter. My folks have let me be and continue to let me be. Now I am learning to do the same for them.

“It is what it isn’t.” – Life, plus experience.

That, in and of itself, is a revelation as bright as any morning sunshine, winter or summer.

Hugs,

♡ o and om

—————-

EARTH ORACLE MAGIC TAROT READINGS

*** This amazing tarot deck is by Steven D. Farmer. To get your own card readings click the links below.

ONE CARD READING:  http://www.earthmagic.net/earth-magic-oracle-card-single-card-reading

THREE CARD READING: http://www.earthmagic.net/3-card-animal-oracle-cards/

Steven Farmer also other decks and readings that may be of interest: http://www.earthmagic.net/free-oracle-card-reading/

Here is his site:  http://www.earthmagic.net

POST UPDATE:

This is the amazing single card reading I pulled directly after posting this blog:

dna card.png

And it’s meaning:

 

DNA – Karma

While the DNA that you inherited from your biological parents has a physical component, it also has a soul pattern that came together in the creation of “you.” You are predisposed to follow the karmic dictates of this patterning to some extent, yet as you evolve in your consciousness, you can make choices that shift and modify this ancestral design This is one of those times. You can feel the tug of your soul that is both ancient and karmic, yet you also recognize the persistent and loving communication from your Higher Self that contradicts the more familiar solutions before you. The choice is up to you.

– Stephen D. Farmer

How’s that for spot on!!

14 thoughts on “Dawn and DNA: New beginnings in November

  1. How did this not make it to my reader? Good thing I decided to visit your blog looking for the film and book critique. I lapped up this blog like warm milk on a cold night ( and I AM lactose intolerant ;)

    Having just arrived home from visiting my sister and mother and sister’s family, I am glad to be home in my hood surrounded by my things and my energy. So much said in what isn’t said and so many memories triggered either purposefully or unintentionally.

    I believe in your writing and know you will get published if that is your true desire. Your style evokes so much emotion and nuance. Just sayin’

    Glad you are not a Kardashian or Game of Throner ( never watched it) or Soprano.

    hugs, Linda

    PS beautiful cards!

  2. Hello O & Om,

    Many thanks for such a delicious posting. I smiled out loud many times, and enjoyed hearing a little more about your movement through the up’s and down’s of the holiday season(s) upon us. Most of all, I loved that you rallied and emerged from the darkness, with your courage, hope and lovely ambitions in tact, and are moving onward. The card at the beginning is truly a stunner, and should probably be displayed in many more public locations… It made me want go onto Expedia and book a flight to Tahiti. Just because.

    Odie is lucky to have such a momma’…

    Peace
    Michael

PLEASE SHARE YOUR COMMENTS;

